Skip to content

Blocked

November 16, 2015

I’ve run out of ideas.

Not for novels and short stories and such. Those just keep coming whether I want them or not. But for blogging? I’m not feeling it these days.

Judging by how many pictures and short posts I’ve put up in the last few weeks, you might have noticed.

I started blogging here again for a few reasons: to share historical tidbits I’ve run across in my novel research; to share linguistic info and writing tips; to maybe find a few like minds. But I’m not really doing any research at the moment, and my ideas for tips are either highly technical or sound too pat, and I’m clearly the wrong person to find like minds because I’d have to devote at least an hour or two a day to go through WordPress and find them, and between my day-job, my writing time, and my need to eat and sleep and occasionally clean things, I don’t have the time.

I suppose I could sleep less, but that wouldn’t be pretty, trust me.

It doesn’t help that I’m still dealing with the aftermath of last Monday, which struck my confidence a pretty big blow, and getting that back is rocky because I’m still running into posts and advice that tell me I’m doing everything wrong. I’m fairly certain I’m not, but who knows?

So here are some questions for you, whoever you are, reading this:

  1. What would you like to see me write about?
  2. How do you keep going through a blogging funk? Any tips for me?
  3. (Bonus question) What am I doing wrong on this blog, because most days it feels like nobody cares about my posts at all?
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

