Skip to content

Life, Books, and Surprise Radio

May 29, 2015

I’ve been talking a lot about history and writing lately, which isn’t all that surprising since that’s basically my aim with this blog. I’m not feeling that today, though. I’m feeling like it’s been ages since I’ve written a check-in-with-Anassa post, and, I dunno, I have thoughts and want to put them on paper into bytes.

In not much of particular order:

  • My last blog post came to the attention of CBC Radio West. I talked to the host Thursday morning about BC place names, my interest in history, and the novel I’m working on. It aired that afternoon, but I was at work so can’t report back on how it went. Yet. I have high hopes there’ll be a recording I can listen to and share in the next day or so.
  • If you’re here because of the CBC interview, hello! Welcome! You’ll find this blog is a mix of writing, history, photos, and humor. Hope you like it!
  • Seriously, me, on the CBC? Little ol’ me? How did that happen?!

    Me, today

    Me, today

  • I hope that wasn’t my 15 minutes. I’m going to need press when I get something published, too!
  • I wrote approximately 2,000 words in a single writing session this week, and managed to get the last 1,000 slightly less info-dumpy yesterday.
  • I realized yesterday that Novel Project The Probably Next could easily be part of the world I’m working in now, just in a different setting, so that makes it slightly less daunting to take on.
  • That said, I think I’ve hit the Terrible Middle™ of my novel and everything just feels blah and impossible and like my plot is hanging by a thread. Soldiering on.
  • I ran across this post on Tumblr recently. I’m not so into folk music that I can name every song they’re referring to, but I know enough to have been giggling hysterically by the end of the first section.
  • I started my 39th book for the year today, and since I’m basically halfway through the year now, I thought it might be nice to look at what exactly I have been reading lately. I mean, I kind of accidentally read to trends and there was The Year of Accidental England…
  • I’ve been reading a fair number of vaguely metafictional novels, it seems—books that draw from folklore and fairy tales, and books that rely on the reader knowing tropes and then turning things on their head. This includes two adult portal fantasies, seven books directly featuring fairies, and two satires (including the one I started today).
  • I’ve only read a few works of non-fiction, but those have been par for the course—psychology and history, telling discreet stories instead of something more academic or clinical.
  • My favourite books so far are A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab, Uprooted by Naomi Novik, Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen, and The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson.
  • I should probably read some science fiction and maybe a book or two for novel research. Also, always taking suggestions, even though I work in a bookstore and don’t really need suggestions….
  • I’m heading home to visit the folks next week, so if my posts are shorter, more full of pictures, or generally more erratic, that’s why.
  • And … I think that’s it? Apart from the CBC thing, my life isn’t all that exciting. Never is, and I don’t think I want it any other way.
  • No, wait, one more thing. It’s practically summer! Have another photo.IMG_4054
One Comment leave one →
  1. May 29, 2015 10:39 am

    If you wondering your dog is looking for badgers.

Leave a Reply

