Skip to content

A Friday Filk Sing-Along

May 1, 2015

In my last post, I stated that people were still placing new lyrics into old tunes, the way folk musicians have always done. Now, I’m not talking about the Robin Thicke incident or anything like that, though that’s definitely happening too, and I’m not talking about people like Bob Dylan—though I absolutely could be. As I understand it, only really knowing a scattering of folk tunes, Dylan is definitely in that category, though I think he’s writing less about his personal experience than a literary idea of America. Could be wrong, though.

No, today I want to talk about filk music.*

Filk is the music of fandom, the songs geeks and nerds and similar sorts write about the media properties they enjoy. It ranges from the “grab a guitar and substitute lyrics” music that’s normally associated with folk songs to full-on band arrangements and original melodies, but at the core, it’s a celebration of movies, books, television, video games, and science. It’s also usually funny.

And yes, before you ask, the term did come from a typo for ‘folk’.

I’d like to share some filk with you today, because it’s my blog and why not? I’ve only dipped my toe into the waters, though. There’s a lot of filk I haven’t heard, haven’t heard of, even, and since I don’t go to conventions, I don’t have much opportunity to learn of new stuff, but still. I like what I’ve heard quite a bit.

Hope you enjoy these ones too!







* See how I just did that thing I posted about on Monday? I’m being all kinds of connected today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

