Skip to content

A Moment at Dawn

February 20, 2015

IMG_4478

Late last year I found myself in the Discovery Passage along the north coast of Vancouver Island, at dawn. Several times, actually. These photos are from my first sunrise, but I want to tell you about the second. I have no pictures of that one because I was in a moving vehicle and those are sadly non-conducive to beautiful landscape photography.

But I’d like you to picture the same colours as the photo below, but slightly more vibrant.

IMG_4483

And then I want you to imagine mudflats at low tide, reflecting the light and colours of the morning so that the sky and the land are glowing equally. The mudflats run for kilometers, curving around spits and peninsulas, and everything is gold and salmon and quiet. Even the sea is calm and smooth.

I found myself thinking that, if I cut out the occasional house and ignored the highway I was on, I was looking at a landscape that would’ve been familiar to the people living there five hundred, a thousand, ten thousand years ago—the sort of world where heroes befriended thunderbirds, girls outwitted cannibal women, and sea creatures lived in villages under the ocean.

Maybe they were still out there. On that morning, anything was possible.

Here’s another Pacific beach at sunset, to give another idea of the colours.

IMG_1828

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Harold Rhenisch permalink
    February 23, 2015 9:58 pm

    Great colours!

    • anassarhenisch permalink*
      February 23, 2015 10:28 pm

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

